this shingles really got on my nerves

Last Thursday, there was an itchy thingy on my back and lower abdomen. Without any doubt, I scratch it. Later, red rash, blisters and vesicles pop out.

Yesterday I went to dermatologist and she told me that I got Herpes Zoster.

“WHAT?! That’s impossible, Doc! I have never had a sexual intercourse before! Another skin disease perhaps? Dermatitis blablabla maybe? I have read some article about several skin disease that has symptoms like this and they are not Herpes. Just Herpes look alike.”

“This is Herpes Zoster. Different that Herpes genitalia that people usually know.”

“So, how this Herpes Zoster related to Herpes-genitalia-that-people-usually-know?”

“They just share the same first name.”

“Okay. -_- ”

And then, she continued to explain . . .

Herpes genitalia happens in mouth and genital area. It caused by Herpes Simplex virus. The virus transmitted to other people through sexual intercourse.

Herpes Zoster, commonly known as Shingles, commonly known as Cacar Ular in Bahasa, is a viral disease caused by Varicella Zoster virus, the same virus that caused Chickenpox (Cacar Air). It is like the sequel of Chickenpox. Once you got Chickenpox, the virus will latent in your body, rest in your nerves in spinal cord. The virus will re-activate when your immunity is low.

A cluster of small bumps (1) turns into blisters (2). The blisters fill with lymph, break open (3), crust over (4), and finally disappear. Postherpetic neuralgia can sometimes occur due to nerve damage (5).

Herpes Zoster characterized by skin rash and blisters in some part of body, usually in chest, back and face. This rash feels very uncomfortable. It has pain-burning-itchy sensation. The unique thing about this disease is that it only affect one side of your body, left or right. The rash and blisters will not across mid line of your body.

Herpes Zoster can infect everyone; even baby or older people. Younger people will not feel too much pain while suffering this disease. However, older people (age > 50) will feel great pain and burning sensation. : (

The treatment of Herpes Zoster aims to reduce the complication and the pain. Therefore Doctor gave me painkillers, antibiotics to weaken the virus, vitamin and topical medication. BTW, cream like Elocon and Apolar-N that I used before are strictly forbidden to use.

Currently, there’s no medication to cure Herpes Zoster. But we can prevent it with a healthy life; enough sleep, adequate nutrition, enough exercise.

Now, since I got a viral disease, Doctor told me to stay at home for 4 days so I can gain my immunity and will not infect people around me. BTW, she also gave an option for me to stay at hospital isolation room for several days. Absolutely not my choice!

4 DAYS!!! Ugh how about my work at office?!
Graooo, this shingles really got on my nerves.
Figuratively.
And literally. T___T

3 thoughts on “this shingles really got on my nerves

    1. eh lo lagi cacar juga fik? kok samaan sih -_-
      gw malah disuruh ga masuk krn bisa nularin ke orang-orang. kerjaan apa kabar ini kerjaan :””

Leave a Reply

