Bel Ami (2012)

Most important people in Paris are not men, but their wives.

— Madeleine Forestier, Bel Ami

Bel Ami is a movie based on the 1885 French novel with the same name by Guy de Maupassant.

The movie tells about George Duroy, a guy who has spent several years in military service is now wasting away as a clerk. In order to climb the social ladder, he use his wit and power of seduction to powerful and wealthy mistresses.

Bel Ami is drama movie starring Robert Pattinson, Uma Thurman, Christina Ricci, and  Kristin Scott Thomas.

In this movie, Rob Pattinson really can show a young greedy social climber. Actually, I have never seen him in other movie than Harry Potter and Twilight, but I think this role is fit him.

BTW, it turns out that many talented actors supported this movie can’t make it success in box office. Perhaps because this movie has no climax and no obvious twist.

From my opinion, hmm so-so.. I quite enjoy the movie even though I had to interrupt it several times to do other things. A little bit bore?
I have not watched this kind of movie in a long time. The drama, conflict, deceitfulness and greediness. Recently, I just watch romantic and superhero movie. So it’s interesting thing to watch. And I love their outfit, too! :D

Things that makes me uncomfortable is that Ricci, whom I remembered from Casper (1995) and Penelope (2006) movie now should act as a married woman who got seduced by young man. Uuu, her innocence’s lost in an instant. T__T
This movie is also daring to show many sex and kissing scene. So not comfortable. NC-17 rating! *Thank God that I do not watch it as family movie, or it will gonna be super aaawkwaard… ;__;

Leave a Reply

