Jaegers vs Kaiju \o/

Yesterday, I went to the cinema to watch either Despicable Me 2 or Pacific Rim. But, since Despicable Me 2 is sooo overrated, many people post about it in everywhere and talk about it like every day until I think I already know much and do not need to watch it again. Hmm ok, maybe next week.

So, I decided to watch Pacific Rim. And, I do not regret my choice! :D

pacific-rim-movie-banner-striker-eureka-jaeger-vs-kaiju

Pacific Rim is a science-fiction movie directed by Guillermo del Toro. The story is set in 2020 when Earth is struggling against Kaiju, giant beasts that risen from a portal beneath Pacific ocean. To fight Kaiju, some countries are joining in consortium called program Jaeger, a gigantic mecha that controlled by more than two pilot that connected through neural bridge.

At first, program Jaeger is successfully striving against Kaiju. But, Kaiju is evolving. They are becoming well-adapted to Jaegers’ combat style. They are also coming more frequent than before.

People may easily compare this movie to Transformers. IMO, it’s not the same.
Okay, I’m not a fan of robot movie, but Pacific Rim is great, imaginative and beyond my expectation. IMO, Pacific Rim is more like Japanese mecha like the one in Full Metal Panic!. Or Gundam. Maybe. Hmm actually, I never know much about Gundam. :p
And the monsters? They remind me of Godzilla or monsters in Ultraman.

There are four Jaegers that introduced in this movie: Gypsy Danger (USA), Striker Eureka (AUS), Crimson Typhoon (CHN) and Cherno Alpha (RUS). Each of them weight around 6000-7000 tons and height around 80-100 meters. And they fight Kaiju with equivalent size.

While watching the pilots driving the robots, I always think: oh my God, that must be hard to control giant robots. Look at them, they are like exercising a step-machine. The one I hated most at the gym! :p

BTW, watching this movie makes me feel like a kid again. I just whooaa at the cinema. It’s like childhood imaginations do come true. I think, the feeling is similar to when I watched Jurassic Park for the first time… Once again, I am not a fan of robot movie, but this one took a place in my heart. This is the movie that I would love to watch over and over again in the future. A movie that I will show to my future kids. *halah lebay* And yes, besides the intense battles, this movie is safe for kids.

Maybe this movie is not perfect. To be honest, I don’t think their acting is exceptional. But, it doesn’t matter because the battle scene is incredible. They don’t put focus on the city destruction, just focus on the battle between Jaeger and Kaiju. And my favorite goes to…Gypsy Danger vs Kaijus battle scene in Hong Kong bay! :D

So, if you are searching for summer blockbuster movie that is not remake or sequel, this one is really worth to watch!

Go big or go extinct!

 

 

Leave a Reply

